Mozilla CEO: Apple Auto-Installing Safari 3.1 “Borders on Malware”

-From Gizmodo and Znet

So most of you probably saw the thrust that the apple auto updater pushed on windows machines even if they didn’t have Safari already installed. This was bold on apple’s part in my opinion, even through I always says cancel.
This what Mozilla CEO John Lilly had to say about it

-from John Lilly’s Blog

What Apple is doing now with their Apple Software Update on Windows is wrong. It undermines the trust relationship great companies have with their customers, and that’s bad — not just for Apple, but for the security of the whole Web. What they did yesterday was to use their updater for iTunes to also install their Safari Web browser –what follows is some background and analysis.

What do you guys think of this push by Apple?
Also before I forget check out the gizmodo link for a nice poll on the topic

2 Comments

  1. So what. You can’t tell me a Windows user is dumb enough to not uncheck the tick next to Safari in the downloads pane. Getting Safari 3.1 for Windows is oxymoronic anyway. Windows user: “Oh cool. Its a better and more secure KHTML/Gecko Web Browser that beats IE7. Gee, I really like iTunes and Safari. But I still am sticking to Vista.” That makes no sense. The Mac will continue to increase its market share over the next decade with revolutionary developer tools and consumer/professional products. If having Safari on XP/Vista seems cool, try OS X.

  2. It’s the fact that it was pushed. I mean sure we can uncheck it but you don’t see IE, Firefox, etc pushing people to use one web browser. Not even Microsoft is that bold. On another note, I had safari on my PC when it was released and it wasn’t that good. I’ll stick with Firefox.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment